1. Skip to content

Leicestershire & Rutland
Association of Local Councils

Supporting Local Councils in Leicestershire & Rutland

Jubilee Hall

Chief Executive: Jake Atkinson
Jubilee Hall, Stadon Road
Anstey, Leicester LE7 7AY

Tel: 0116 235 3800

Formed by Parish Councils --- Run for Parish Councils --- Delivering to Parish Councils

The Leicestershire and Rutland Association of Local Councils (LRALC) is a not for profit membership organisation, representing, training and advising the parish (including town) councils of Leicestershire and Rutland, who form the grass roots tier of local government in England. Put simply, we are our members.

We offer members a resource of vital, operational information and facilitate communication at all levels of the parish network - district, county, regional and national.

As a membership association we are unable to deal with queries from the public, but we are happy to make general information available through this website.

Latest News

Agenda for Big Discussion Events

Thu, 21 Sep 2017 18:41 by Jake Atkinson

The agenda for the forthcoming Big Discussion events can be found below.

Please ensure you refer to the correct one for the event you are attending.

Appointment of Training and Advice Manager

Mon, 21 Aug 2017 19:28 by Jake Atkinson

LRALC has appointed Frances Webster as its Training and Advice Manager. Frances is CiLCA qualified and has a Law degree. She has been Clerk to Kibworth Harcourt Parish Council since early 2013 (and more recently to Smeeton Westerby Parish Council as well) and before that had a career in law and advice work. Frances has a wealth of skills that she is bringing to LRALC and we believe she will be a real asset to LRALC as it continues its strategic growth to meet the needs of member councils. More »

Frances, who beat strong competition at interview, starts on 30th October and will be working 30 hours per week. As Training and Advice Manager Frances will have a key role to play in the development of the member advice service and will assist with the growth and development of the Association's training function, and much more besides!

As we have said many times over the course of 2017, this is an exciting time for LRALC, and this appointment marks an important new chapter in the Association's development.

We now have two members of staff that can answer technical enquiries and deliver training, and this in itself is an important development. We will also be setting up a number of new services and additions to the core membership offer now that the staff team has grown.

The Association is well-placed to meet the ever-increasing needs of parish and town councils in terms of advice and technical guidance, whilst now having the resources to develop ways of working smarter as well as harder. » Less

No libraries or streetlights left in Britain by 2020 if austerity doesn't stop, warns Tory local government chief

Thu, 13 Jul 2017 10:16 by Jake Atkinson

"We won't be cleaning the streets we won't be cutting the grass, we won't be putting street lights on at all, your libraries will go, your pot holes won't get filled up"

The stark warning was given by Lord Porter, Conservative Chairman of the Local Government Association in a recent interview as reported by the Independent newspaper (see here). More »

In support, Paul Carter, Tory leader of Kent County Council, said: "Eventually the elastic will break, and we're now very close to that point if we don't get some better news in the coming year."

Parish councils may wish to consider making representations to their MPs on this subject, as clearly the vision outlined by Lord Porter would have a considerable impact on parish councils and their communities. » Less