23rd July 2024

Explore services and information
Search Leicestershire & Rutland Association of Local Councils

Supporting Local Councils in Leicestershire & Rutland

Chairman's Training

COURSE TUTOR: Jake Atkinson or John Kilcoyne

The course is ideal for existing chairmen who would like to access support to perform this often difficult role confidently and effectively. It is also suitable for committee chairmen and to councillors who are considering whether to put themselves forward for this role in the future.

This session is not a "chairing skills" course (we intend to introduce such a course in the future) but rather is intended to focus on the unique statutory functions and procedural role that local council chairmen discharge. Previous experience as a chairman in other sectors does not replace the need to attend this training.

The course focuses on:

  • The leadership role of the Chairman
  • The legal powers and duties of the Chairman
  • Public relations – civic duties
  • Managing council meetings
  • Being a good Employer
  • Public participation

COSTS

£50 per delegate (member rate)

£115 per delegate (non-member rate)

DATES:

Wednesday 24th January 2024 1.00pm - 4.00pm for Clerks Only ONLINE

Tuesday 5th March 2024, 6.00pm – 9.00pm ONLINE

Tuesday 21st May 2024 1.00pm - 4.00pm ONLINE

Wednesday 5th June 2024 1.00pm - 4.00pm ONLINE

Thursday 20th June 2024 1.00pm - 4.00pm ONLINE

Tuesday 2nd July 2024 1.00pm - 4.00pm for Clerks Only ONLINE (Cancelled)

Tuesday 3rd September 2024 6.00pm - 9.00pm ONLINE

Tuesday 1st October 2024 6.00pm - 9.00pm ONLINE

Wednesday 6th November 2024 1.00pm - 4.00pm ONLINE

VENUE: As specified above.

Last updated: Mon, 24 Jun 2024 14:04